Get a 10% discount on all prepaid orders above Rs 200 by using coupon code PREPAID10. Not valid on Cash on Delivery orders, Vintage books and books set/surprise set.
John Masters

Nightrunners of Bengal by John Masters

Free Shipping

Book Condition



Cash on Delivery

Out of stock

Free Shipping


First published in 1951, The Nightrunners of Bengal is one of John Masters’ series of seven novels which followed several generations of the Savage family serving in the British Army in India.

Nightrunners of Bengal focuses on the Indian Rebellion of 1857. The central character, Captain Rodney Savage, is an officer in a Bengal Native Infantry regiment, based in the fictional city of Bhowani. When rebellion breaks out, the British community in Bengal is shattered. Savage’s empathy for the Indians is shaken, as the British try to discover who is loyal to them and who is not.

One of the great novels of India, Nightrunners of Bengal combines John Master’s mastery of story-telling with an intuitive sense of history. This was the first novel that Masters wrote in the series, though not the first novel chronologically, and alongside Bhowani Junction is one of his best-known works.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Nightrunners of Bengal by John Masters”